The End of an Era

It is with great sadness that I announce here the termination of my position and of our Integrated Global Arts Program for the 2013 – 2014 school year.  That is not to say that the Harmony Project will not have a presence here.  They might.  It just means that there will be no one here to guide the program and coordinate schedules.  There won’t be anyone here to align standards, progress report indicators, interdisciplinary units and elements of global competence with creative projects that make student learning visible.

Once my next steps have been secured I will likely articulate the circumstance and my opinions in more detail.  Until then, should you seek further insight please feel free to message me directly.

In closing, I have been told that this decision was made as a result of budget cuts…  A grim reality for many of our nation’s most under-served and under-performing schools.

Sincerely,

Tamera

5 thoughts on “The End of an Era

  1. I am devastated to hear this. It’s a big mistake on the part of the school and I know they will realize this on;y when you are gone. Whatever your next steps, I wish you the best of luck.

  2. As an artist formerly involved in this program, I feel a responsibility to express here my utter amazement at Tamera’s dedication, perseverance, and creativity. Time and time again, she demonstrated the lengths to which she would go to help a child realize his or her potential. Whether that meant finding the grant funds to support field trips for real-world learning; or spending one-on-one sessions with some of the more troubled students in order to make them feel secure, heard, and valued; or advocating to staff, administrators, and other higher-ups on behalf of this program and the students benefiting from it, Tamera was more than up to the task.

    I count myself lucky to have worked with her. I know many others — teachers and artists alike — who do as well. And I am certain that in the years to come, the students who were graced by her friendship, mentorship, and tutelage will think of her fondly as one who fought for them, one who cared. I already do.

  3. I like the helpful info you supply for your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and test once more here regularly.
    I’m somewhat certain I will be informed lots of new
    stuff proper here! Best of luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

