Where the Wind Will Blow

“When we least expect it, life sets us a challenge to test our courage and willingness to change; at such a moment, there is no point in pretending that nothing has happened or in saying that we are not yet ready. The challenge will not wait. Life does not look back. A week is more than enough time for us to decide whether or not to accept our destiny.”

– Paulo Coelho

And so it happens that the wind stirs, and while the gusts of the moment leave me breathless I must trust that the change they bring is no happenstance.  I must have faith that the storm will subside and that the sky will clear and that the path will reveal itself.

This post is to announce that I am once again seeking meaningful work.  The one year I have spent building Trevista Enrichment has yielded a program model that others in the district now aim to replicate.  While the vision behind this innovative program is strong, more than one year of planning is required for long term sustainability.  Funds have been lost and so has my job.  Trevista Enrichment is being discontinued.

Some people ask me why I don’t conform to a career path that has already been paved by others, for surely it would be easier. My response is simple.  The path I walk now is the one I am meant to travel.  I had a dream nearly five years ago that I lived in Colorado.  So after finishing my Masters degree I left New York City and headed for the hills where I knew only one person.  I was going to build a new career in a new city.  I was never promised that the journey would be easy.  The road I embarked on was a long one…  I knew that then and I feel that now.

So if you find yourself here, reading these words, please take a few moments and peruse the new changes.  For now, this blog will be an effort on my part to share my accomplishments and ambitions with others, in the hope that new doors will soon open.  What you see on these pages illustrates the tremendous amount of hard work and passion I have generated in the past three years, both at Trevista and also at Denver Center for International Studies.  Someday I look forward to this space becoming a resource once again for creative educators who want to explore their professions in a new way.  For now, I will use this cyber space as a platform to share with anyone and everyone the work I have done and the work I aim to continue.

I will end this post with the same voice from whence it began.

Mitakye Oyasin.

“When a person really desires something, all the universe conspires to help that person to realize his dream.”  – Paulo Coelho

Leave a Reply

